The Leis Houses
1,526 m above sea level, in the remote hamlet of Leis, which belongs to the community of Vals, we built three timber cabins: the Oberhus, the Unterhus and the Türmlihus. We rent these three detached houses to guests as vacation residences.

Each house is exquisitely furnished and is at the exclusive disposal of our guests. In winter, the ski piste from Gadastatt down the valley runs right past Leis and our cottages. From early summer well into the fall, the vacation homes are the starting point for numerous wonderful hikes. And all year round our cabins are a beautiful hideout amidst mountains, nature and blue sky.

We are very much looking forward to sharing the timber houses and Leis with many guests.
The Zumthor family

 

Leis
Leis is the highest settlement occupied all year round in the community of Vals. The people of Vals originally spoke Romansh. In the late Middle Ages German speaking Walsers settled in this area and cleared the trees from the mountainside terraces sometime around 1300, having presumably found their way here via the Misox. In Mesocco, a small municipality in the Misox, there is a neighborhood called Leis.

A Rhætian register of debtors from 1325 tells us that there used to be two mayors in Vals: one Johannes de Valle and one Wilhelm Lampert de Leisa. At that time part of the population still spoke Rhaeto-Romanic and they mostly lived, like mayor Johannes, down in the valley near the church in the square. The Leis Chapel, built in the early seventeenth century, is dedicated to Saint James the Greater, patron saint of travelers and walkers.

Today Leis has around 20 inhabitants. There is a restaurant, and two families tend the mountain meadows. There is year-round access to Leis by road.

Ferien in den Leiserhäusern
Im 1526 Meter über Meer gelegenen Weiler Leis, der zur Bündner Gemeinde Vals gehört, haben wir drei Holzhäuser gebaut – das Oberhus, das Unterhus und das Türmlihus. Diese drei frei stehenden Häuser vermieten wir an Gäste als Ferienhäuser.

Jedes Haus ist exklusiv möbliert und steht für die Gäste zur alleinigen Benutzung bereit. Im Winter führt die Skipiste von Gadastatt hinunter ins Tal direkt an Leis und den Ferienhäusern vorbei. Vom Frühsommer bis in den Herbst sind Oberhus, Unterhus und Türmlihus Ausgangspunkt für zahlreiche schöne Wanderungen. Und das ganze Jahr über sind sie ein wunderbares Refugium inmitten von Bergen, Natur und blauem Himmel.

Wir freuen uns, die Holzhäuser und Leis mit vielen Gästen zu teilen.
Familie Zumthor

 

Leis
Leis ist die höchstgelegene, ganzjährig bewohnte Siedlung der Gemeinde Vals. In Vals wurde ursprünglich Romanisch gesprochen. Im späten Mittelalter wanderten Deutsch sprechende Walser ein. Vermutlich fanden die Walser, die um 1300 die Terrasse von Leis rodeten und sich dort ansiedelten, den Weg nach Leis über das benachbarte Misox. Dort, in Mesocco, gibt es einen Dorfteil mit dem Namen Leis.

Ein rätisches Schuldenverzeichnis aus dem Jahre 1325 belegt, dass damals zwei Ammänner in Vals amtierten: ein Johannes de Valle und ein Wilhelm Lampert de Leisa. Ein Teil der Bevölkerung sprach damals noch rätoromanisch und wohnte mit seinem Ammann Johannes vorwiegend im Talboden bei der Kirche am Platz. Die Leiser Kapelle aus dem frühen 17. Jahrhundert ist dem Heiligen Jakobus dem Älteren, Patron der Reisenden und Wanderer, geweiht.

In Leis leben heute rund 20 Personen und es gibt eine Gastwirtschaft. Zwei Bauernfamilien bewirtschaften die Bergwiesen. Leis ist ganzjährig mit einer Fahrstrasse erschlossen.